White Males Award Oscars to White Males for their White Male Stories… and this is surprising why?

Source: Huffington Post


This Will Be The Whitest Oscars Since 1998

Benedict Cumberbatch, Eddie Redmayne and other white people kindly welcome you to the whitest Oscars since 1998. Yes, unfortunately, you read that right: Without a nod for David Oyelowo announced this morning (see white person Brad Pitt for help on that pronunciation) 2015 will be the worst year for diversity in Hollywood since the 70th annual ceremony.

This is especially troubling when you consider that last year’s Oscars was a banner year, with a Best Supporting Actress award for Lupita Nyong’o and Steve McQueen taking home the Best Picture title as producer for “12 Years a Slave.” “Selma” is nominated in that category this year, so we may have a victory for Ava DuVernay’s film, but that nod — and another “Selma” nomination for Best Original Song — hardly counts as redemption here. As Chris Rock can tell you, there are still far too few people of color in the industry, but at least one non-white person* has been nominated each year in the four acting categories since the last whitest Oscars ever nearly two decades ago. Here’s the whole list:

2014 Lupita Nyong’o, Barkhad Abdi and Chiwetel Ejiofor
2013 Denzel Washington and Quevenzhane Wallis
2012 Demian Bichir, Viola Davis and Octavia Spencer
2011 Javier Bardem and Hailee Steinfeld
2010 Gabourey Sidibe, Monique, Penelope Cruz and Morgan Freeman
2009 Taraji P. Henson
2008 Ruby Dee and Javier Bardem
2007 Forest Whitaker, Will Smith, Djimon Honsou, Eddie Murphy, Jennifer Hudson, Adriana Barraza, Penelope Cruz and Rinko Kikuchi
2006 Terrence Howard
2005 Jamie Foxx, Don Cheadle, Catalina Sandino Moreno, Sophie Okonedo, Morgan Freeman and Jamie Foxx
2004 Djimon Honsou, Ken Watanabe, Benicio del Toro, Shohreh Aghdashloo and Keisha Castle-Hughes
2003 Salma Hayek and Queen Latifah
2002 Denzel Washington, Will Smith, Halle Berry and Ben Kingsley
2001 Javier Bardem and Benicio del Toro
2000 Denzel Washington and Michael Clarke Duncan
1999 Fernanda Montenegro
1998 … no one

(Continued at the source.)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s